Shimmer of Fallen Stars 6:07 / Ronda 12:05 / Rautapallo 4:22 / Blessing 4:48 / Good Old Times 8:27 / Agape 7:58 / Never Ending Sea 5:11 / Consolation 7:02 / Reflections 9:44 / Ice Breaking 5:36 // Total playing time 71:20

Music sample

01 Shimmer of Fallen Stars 6:07

Juhani Aaltonen tenor saxophone, flute (03, 09) and alto flute (07)
Iro Haarla piano and harp
Ulf Krokfors double bass
Reino Laine drums

Conclusions can be seen to reflect the long career of the Finnish tenor saxophone giant Juhani Aaltonen through ten new compositions by members of the quartet that also includes pianist/harpist Iro Haarla, bassist Ulf Krokfors and drummer Reino Laine, who are all mature masters in their own right.

A staple on the Nordic jazz scene for five decades, Aaltonen was deeply inspired by John Coltrane´s legendary concerts in Helsinki in the early 1960s but has long since developed a sound and concept fully his own. With the recently formed Juhani Aaltonen Quartet, Aaltonen has re-connected with musicians representing a link to different phases in his career.

On Conclusions, Aaltonen takes stock of his musical past. Although his music moves to a new, more reflective level with this quartet, it still always places a strong accent on free improvisation. The album offers a persuasive argument in support of the contention that Juhani Aaltonen is stronger than ever.

Juhani Aaltonen Quartet
TUM CD 021

Siirry sivun alkuun