Antti Hytti (b. 1950) grew up in a musical family in Vironlahti close to Finland´s Eastern border with Russia. After first trying his hand on the violin and the piano, Hytti settled on the double bass. During high school, he also played electric bass in various amateur bands.

Hytti studied double bass at the Sibelius Academy in 1970-74 with Oiva Nummelin and Olli Kosonen, among others. He also studied privately with bassist Tapani Tamminen in 1971-75. During his time at the Sibelius Academy, Hytti played classical music in various school orchestras but also popular music with fellow students and others. He also played dance music with trumpeter Rauno Eskelinen, among others.

Hytti first became known to a broader audience as a co-founder and bassist of Piirpauke, a group that combines world music and jazz influences and still continues to be active today. In 1974-78, Hytti played in Piirpauke´s original line-up, which also featured saxophonist/pianist Sakari Kukko, guitarist Hasse Walli and drummer Jukka Wasama and participated in its first two highly popular recordings (Piirpauke in1975 and Piirpauke 2 in 1976). Hytti also played on Sakari Kukko´s first solo album (Kajastus in 1979).

In 1975-76, Hytti was a member of the progressive rock group Manifest (with Hasse Walli, pianist Jukka Linkola, drummer Tero Sarikoski and vocalist Harri Saksala) that was followed by Punainen Lanka, that combined traditional Finnish folk songs with political songs of the day (with Sakari Kukko, guitarists Ilmari Hytönen and Antero Jakoila and vocalists Eija Ahvo and Harri Saksala; Punainen Lanka in 1976). Many of the same musicians participated in projects involving Koiton laulu, a choir then under the leadership of pianist and composer Toni Edelmann (Maa in 1974, Koiton laulu in 1976, Kauhea Murhamies Lalli in 1976 and Päivänpyörä in 1979).

In the mid-1970s, Hytti began studying and collaborating with drummer Edward Vesala, which led to his membership in the Tomasz Stanko - Edward Vesala Quartet in 1976-78 (also saxophonist Tomasz Szukalski; Live At Remont in 1976). During this period, he also performed with saxophonist Juhani Aaltonen (Springbird in 1978), trumpeter Don Cherry, pianist Alexander von Schlippenbach, drummer Paul Lovens and many others.

In 1980-82, Hytti was a member of saxophonist Jone Takamäki´s trio (also drummer Samppa Salmi; Jone Takamäki in 1981 and Universal Mind in 1982). During the early 1980s, he also performed with his own quartet, the Make Lievonen Octet, the Otto Donner Sextet, Edward Vesala´s Sound and Fury (Kullervo in 1984-5) and two co-operative groups, IMU, a larger group that was re-formed in the early 1980s to perform improvised music, and Roommushklan (with Jone Takamäki, pianist Jarmo Savolainen, guitarist Raoul Björkenheim and drummer Tom Nekljudow) that was active in 1983-85.

During the late 1970s, Hytti began composing music for films thereby beginning a successful new career. He has composed music for feature films by directors Antti Peippo (Ihmemies in 1979), Timo Linnasalo (Aurinkotuuli in 1980), Heikki Partanen (Ramses ja unet in 1982 and Pessi ja Illusia in 1983), Matti Ijäs (Painija in 1985), Jaakko Pyhälä (Ursula in 1986), Pekka Parikka (Pohjanmaa in 1988 and Tie Naisen sydämeen in 1996) and Olli Soinio (Kuutamosonaatti in 1988 and Kuutamosonaatti 2: Kadunlakaisijat in 1991). He has also composed music to dozens of short films, animated movies and documentaries.

Hytti has performed with a number of theater productions, including the legendary Pete Q production by Suomen Kansan Teatteri in 1978 that featured Toni Edelmann´s music and a group also including saxophonist Tuuppi Tuominen, guitarist Pekka Reckhardt and Tero Sarikoski. Since that time, Hytti himself has composed music for numerous theater productions that have been performed throughout Finland.

In 2000, Hytti and Jone Takamäki founded Suhkan Uhka, a 12-member ensemble performing both their own compositions and a wide range of borrowed tunes. Suhkan Uhka brought together many of Hytti´s and Takamäki´s old collaborators (saxophonists Juhani Aaltonen and Tane Kannisto, trombonist Patrik Latvala, pianists Seppo Kantonen and Jarmo Savolainen, guitarist Raoul Björkenheim or Pekka Nylund, bassist Ulf Krokfors and Tom Nekljudow) but also younger players, like trumpeter Verneri Pohjola (Suhka, TUM CD 001, in 2002). Around this time, Hytti and Takamäki also performed together in Otná Eahket, a trio founded with Tom Nekljudow in 1997 and sometimes expanded into a quartet with a keyboard player. In 2004, Hytti performed and recorded with the HYPERLINK "" Iro Haarla & Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife (Penguin Beguine, TUM CD 011).

In recent years, Hytti has performed with Hattula Hippies, Ugrian Unity, Vesa ja Tytöt and Nummiranta & Tajahahmot, all groups based in Porvoo, Hytti´s longstanding hometown.

Siirry sivun alkuun